Guidance, leadership and advocacy are just a few of the highly-valued attributes that United Way Suncoast’s board members bring to the organization. All board members are heavily involved with advancing United Way Suncoast’s strategic plan and its goal to break the cycle of generational poverty through educational programs that give children the skills to succeed, and helping adults achieve long-term financial stability so they can support themselves and their families.

“United Way Suncoast is fortunate to have the leadership and insight of business leaders who combine their passions to strengthen our community impact programming in the Sarasota region,” said Mireya Eavey, United Way Suncoast Sarasota Area President. “I look forward to continuing to work with our Sarasota area board to fortify existing partnerships and create new ones as we fight for the people education and financial stability of those in the Sarasota area.”

New to the 2017 Sarasota Area Board are:

•    Dr. Todd Bowden, Superintendent, Sarasota County Schools
•    David Ford-Coates, Vice President/Market Leader, BB&T Bank
•    Susan Wetzel, North America, Medical Device Transformation Leader, Johnson & Johnson North America

A complete list of Sarasota Area Board members follows below.

In addition, United Way Suncoast welcomes new members to its Community Impact Committee who provide oversight for United Way Suncoast program impact and investment in the Sarasota area.

•    George Davis, Community Advocate, Retired Lincoln Financial Group executive
•    Carolyn Mason, Director of Donor Engagement, Harvest House Transitional Center and Retired County Commissioner, Sarasota County Government
•    Jennifer Rust, Vice President/Private Wealth Advisor, Synovus Bank of Florida

The 2017 Sarasota area board of directors are as follows:

Sarasota Area Board Members

Dr. Judy Shank, Chair
Member and Volunteer
Tocqueville Society

Jessica Blume, Secretary
Retired, Former Vice Chair, Deloitte LLP

Dr. Todd Bowden
Superintendent, Sarasota County Schools

Marlon Brown
Deputy City Administrator, City of Sarasota

Rae Dowling
External Affairs Manager, Florida Power & Light Company

E. Keith DuBose
Shareholder, Matthews, Eastmoore, Hardy, Crauwels & Garcia, P.A.

David Ford-Coates
Vice President/Market Leader, BB&T Bank

Tom Harmer
Sarasota County Administrator, Sarasota Board of County Commissioners

Kimberly Hopper
Sarasota/Bradenton City President, Regions Bank Sarasota

Michael Kot
District Manager, Publix Super Markets

Robert Lane
Managing Shareholder, Kerkering, Barberio & Co.

Richard Rueger
Senior Vice President, FCCI Insurance Group

Karen Rushing
Clerk of the Circuit Court and County Comptroller, Sarasota Clerk of Circuit Court

Susan Wetzel
North America, Medical Device Transformation Leader, Johnson & Johnson North America

Isabella Stepanek
CYD STAR Student

In addition to their service on the Sarasota area board, Mss. Dowling, Hopper and Rushing, and Mr. Lane serve on the regional Suncoast board, which oversees all four United Way Suncoast counties.

United Way Suncoast enjoys leadership from three boards: One overseeing the entire region, and two area boards (Sarasota [DeSoto and Sarasota counties] and Tampa Bay [Hillsborough and Pinellas counties]). Chief among the responsibilities of the Sarasota area board are ongoing decisions regarding the reinvestment of more than $2 million from the annual budget back into the local community.

**A complete list of board members can be found by clicking here.**